EMBC/13/33 E

Date: 22 November 2013 Original language: English

45th Ordinary Session (Part I) Agenda item 4

Summary of the decisions of the 44th ordinary session (Part II)

Conference is requested to take note of the document.

Summary of the decisions

Draft agenda

The draft agenda for the meeting was adopted as presented.

> Summary Record of the previous meeting

The provisional summary record of the first part of the 44th ordinary session of EMBC, which took place on 24 June 2013 in Heidelberg, was approved unanimously.

> Changes to the EMBC Rules of Procedure

> Rule 1.2, 'The President and the Vice Presidents', was amended by inserting the word 'normally' to enable the reelection of a current President beyond the stated maximum duration of four terms. The new Rule states:

"The President and the Vice Presidents may be re-elected, but the combined duration of these consecutive appointments will *normally* be limited to a total of four (4) years for each position for each individual."

> Rule 12, 'Languages', was changed as follows, the text in italics indicating the new wording:

"At meetings of the Conference simultaneous interpretation shall may be provided for statements delivered in English, French or German *if requested by a Member State delegation at least eight weeks before the scheduled start of the meeting.* Conference documents shall in principle be issued in all three languages: where time does not allow a full translation to be made, summaries shall be provided in the working language or languages affected."

Appointment of EMBC officers for 2014

Conference was requested to elect the EMBC officers for 2014. The outcome is the following:

- Mr Maimets (EE) was reelected for a fifth term as **President** of EMBC (following the change of Rule 1.2 of the Rules of Procedure, see above).
- Ms Nieto (ES) was reelected for a fourth term as Vice President.
- Mr van Meer (NL) was elected for a first term as Vice President.
- Mr Cramer (DE) was elected for a first term as **Secretary General**.
- Mr Hiltunen (FI) and Ms Bauer (AT) were reelected for a second term as Chair and Vice Chair of the Finance Committee, respectively.