EMBC/12/23 E Date: 5 December 2012 Original language: English

44th Ordinary Session (Part I)

Agenda item 4

Summary of the major decisions of the 43rd ordinary session

Conference is requested to take note of the document.

Summary of the major decisions

Summary Record of the previous meeting

The provisional summary record of the second part of the 42nd ordinary session of EMBC, which took place on 27 November 2011, was approved unanimously.

Crèche support

Conference was positive towards the proposal to include the 'Crèche support' for EMBO Long-Term Fellows into the General Programme of EMBC and mandated EMBO to elaborate the proposal for the Indicative Scheme discussion in 2013.

Adjustment of the stipend rates for the EMBO Long-Term Fellowship scheme Conference unanimously approved EMBO's proposal to adjust the EMBO Long-Term Fellowship rates. In this context, the minimum stipend was fixed at €22,500.

> Accounts 2011

The accounts for 2011 were approved unanimously and the External Auditors' reports on the accounts were noted.

> Scale of contributions for 2013 and 2014

The scale of contributions calculated for the years 2013 and 2014 was approved with France, Greece, Portugal, Spain, and Turkey abstaining.

Budget 2013

The draft budget for 2013 was approved with one abstention.

> Revised budget 2012

The revised budget for 2012 was approved unanimously.

> Appointment of new external auditors from the Netherlands

The Netherlands' National Audit Office (ADR) was appointed as new external auditors to carry out the audit of the accounts for the financial years 2013, 2014 and 2015.

Appointment of EMBC officers for 2013

Conference was requested to elect the EMBC officers for 2013. The outcome is the following:

Mr Maimets (EE) was re-elected as President of EMBC.

Ms Nieto (ES) and Mr Kaczmarek (PL) were re-elected as Vice-Presidents.

Mr Pavelic (HR) was re-elected as Secretary General.

Mr Hiltunen (FI) was elected as new Chair of the Finance Committee

Ms Bauer (AT) was elected as new Vice-Chair of the Finance Committee.

> Selection of seven non-permanent members of the Finance Committee

Conference was requested to select seven Member States as non-permanent members of the Finance Committee. The appointment is for a term of three years.

As of January 2013 the composition of the Finance Committee is the following:

Permanent members: France, Germany, Italy, Spain and United Kingdom

Non-permanent members: Austria, Belgium, Finland, Ireland, Greece, The Netherlands

and Sweden.